Summer Blues…

It’s been a couple months since I have posted anything… laziness has gotten the best of me.

Summer is in full swing, and life is cruising right along. Yesterday, I received excellent news, after waiting 2 months, that I will be teaching as a Torrey Academy Tutor next fall (youth.biola.edu/ta). I am simultaneously excited as well as nervous about this as I have never taught before. On the one hand, it is exactly the kind of teaching that I want to do- it being a classical educational program- but on the other hand I do not have much first hand experience with such a style. It will be interesting to see how I adapt to the program.

I have started to read volume one to Jaroslav Pelikan’s History of the Development of Doctrine. My goal is to read all five volumes this summer, but history suggests that this won’t actually happen. My roommate, Jack, was joking that he already has a betting pool on how far I will make it. He further jokes, “It’s nothing personal, it’s just based on your past behavior…” I’ll show him! Of course, the goal of reading all five may be a bit unrealistic as it is over 1000 pages. But I am going to try!

What else is going on in my world? I am working part time with the Biola University Bold Program. Basically, I run their mail everyday as well as set up classrooms for the night classes. I was thinking during my first week on the job that there is not too many places where I would for $8 an hour run mail, do office work, as well as move around desks. But, I actually enjoy doing this type of thing for a place like Biola. When I run the mail, it’s interesting how I am playing such a vital role to the running of the Bold program. I get to see how all the different departments of Biola connect with each other as well. It sounds trivial- in that I am just running mail, but it’s enjoyable because I know that the overall purpose of what I am doing is serving a school who is striving to impact the world for Christ.

Tonight, I get to become more cultured, as I am going to the LA Opera. There is a play called Luisa Fernando that is being performed and I look forward to it. The only two operas I have been to have been here at Biola. The first one was The Magic Flute. This one was a highly entertaining, and funny opera by Mozart. The other one was Carmen. This one was entertaining but not as funny as the first one. The lead singer Carmen was great but the co-star was not so much. I look forward to my third and first professional opera tonight.

That’s all for the Summer-time Blues…. hopefully it won’t be 2 months until I post again.

Leave a comment